May 25, 2011

Unknown Countries of the World

This is my original article which I wrote for my Blog Finding Neverland
This idea was a strange one. Search for the countries which are unknown to the world? Uninteresting, but the whole drill was fun. We do hear the famous country names everyday here is something for a change. Although it was just a matter of looking at the list of world countries and noting down some unknown names but more than this it made me learn a lot about the alien countries of the world. Generally though, for your Information most of the countries which are unknown to the world are from Africa, hope you like this article.


Capital: Funafuti
Head of State: Queen Elizabeth II
Governor General: Iakoba Italeli
Prime Minister: Willy Telavi
Independence Day: 1st October, 1978
Total Area: 26 km²
Total Population: 10,472

This country is ruled by the Queen of England, Elizabeth and she is the official queen here also known as the queen of Tuvalu and appoints the prime minister if the country who is the care taker. This country consists of four reef Islands and five true atolls. It is situated between the Hawaii and Australian lands. Its Population of 10,472 makes it the 3rd least populated country in the world and it is also the fourth smallest country in the world due to its area. The Parliament of the country is known as Fale I Fono. Favorite game of Tuvalu is Kilikiti which resembles Cricket, where as Ano is another famous game played. This country participated in the Beijing Olympics of 2008 for the first ever time.


Capital: Yaren (Defacto)
President: Marcus Stephen
Independence Day: 31st January, 1968
Total Area: 21 km²
Total Population: 9322

This country was one of the parts of the German Kingdom and got Independence from the Trustyship of Austria-New Zealand-United Kingdom in the year 1968. It was taken by the British soldiers from the Germans and was captured again by the Japanese during the World War II. President is the head of the state in the Country and the National Assembly consists of 18 members. Most of the people of the country are Christians and the national language is Nauruan. The Literacy rate of the county is almost 96%. People of Nauru are considered as the healthiest and fattest people in the world and due to this reason 40% of the people are suffering from diabetes. Most famous game of the country is the Australian Rules football.


Capital: Moroni
President: Ahmed Abdallah Muhamed Sambi.
Independence Day: 6 July, 1975.
Total Area: 2235 km²
Total Population: 691,000.

The official name of Comoros is, Union of Comoros and it got independence from France. It is an archipelago island nation in the Indian Ocean, located off the eastern coast of Africa, on the northern end of the Mozambique Channel, between northeastern Mozambique and northwestern Madagascar. The official language of the country is French but it Arabic is widely spoken and It is also a part of the Arab League. It is the sixth smallest, and a few of the poorest countries of Africa continent. It consists of four volcanic Islands and still is highly influenced and partially ruled by the French on the request of the local government. The total army of the country is of 500 men.  There is only one news paper and TV network.


Capital: Port Villa
President: Sato Kiliman
Independence Day: 30th July, 1980
Total Area: 12190 km²
Total Population: 243,304

Republic of Vanuatu got independence from the French reign and was a disputed territory among the British and French in the late 1880’s. It is located in the South Pacific Ocean and its national language is Bislama. But the official languages are English and French, most of the education system is based on these languages.  It has its own constitution and both the President and the Prime Minister have equal importance.  The only way of living for the people of the country is fishing and Tourism. The main religion of the country is Christianity. It was divided into six provinces in the year 1994.


Capital:  Tarawa
President: Anote Tong
Independence Day: 12  July, 1979.
Total Area: 811 km²
Total Population: 98000

Republic of Kiribati, is an island nation located in the central tropical Pacific Ocean. It is composed of 32 atolls and one raised coral island, dispersed over 3.5 million square kilometers.  Kiribati became independent from the United Kingdom in 1979. It is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, the IMF and the World Bank, and became a full member of the United Nations in 1999. The cabinet is composed of the president, vice president and 10 ministers. Kiribati was formally divided into districts until its independence. The country now is divided into three island groups which have no administrative function, including a group which unites the Line Islands and the Phoenix Islands.


  1. nice post
    and really very interesting information about unknown countries of the world

  2. Nice post. I like this and if you want to create websites, web hosting, domain registration, web designing click here Thank you so much...

  3. wow very interesting! had never heard of these places... Nauru is where I want to be now!! :P

  4. hey nice post der :p gud 2 knoe :p... i only knew bout Kiribati.

    P.S. - Is it jus me o is sum text inb/w only visible wen u highlight it? U mite wanna check it.

  5. Thanks Everyone :) I appreciate your views ... and I'll look at the text, thanks :)


Comments are sexy.